Connecting in Sports - How I like to network within football!

Hey there!

I’m not going to lie, but I was struggling to find something to write about this week. There’s a lot that AceBoy Sports Group has in the pipeline for the next few months, but I’d prefer to write about those projects once they get under way and then are completed. So to avoid not getting anything out to you, I thought I’d talk about how I network in sports, with a focus on football in particular, so let’s get stuck in!

As I’m sure you’d agree, networking in any industry can be a daunting task, especially if you are new to that industry and aren’t sure how to start. Some people might prefer in person interaction for the first time, others might be more comfortable behind a screen, while there are those out there who prefer a bit of both! I’m going to discuss what I’ve found to be the most beneficial when connecting with other professionals, and what I’m most comfortable with.

Before we take a closer look at some of my thoughts around networking, one crucial opinion I’d like to share with you is the importance and effectiveness of cold-calling/emailing/messaging. I’d say that about 70% of my go-to network has resulted from messaging new connections on LinkedIn or Twitter, just introducing myself, explaining what I’m doing, etc. and just conversing really. So if you’re going to take anything away from this post, let it be that, I encourage you to try it. So now, let’s really get stuck in!

Everyone does it, so don’t worry!

This is actually something I grasped pretty early on in my college days when I first started networking, mainly at conferences or conventions that my university hosted. I’m using this setting as an example since this is the most likely place you’d start networking, or are at least encouraged to. When you’re at these things, every industry professional or guest lecturer that’s present knows students want to speak with them and are hoping to connect in some capacity. Sure, there’s always that super cringe moment when you lock eyes across the room and then make your way over for a handshake and intro before you ask your questions, but that’s part of the game! And knowing they knew that it could be awkward at first, always made it less awkward for me, and once you start talking, you’re good to go!

Don’t ask for something right away!

I feel like this one is pretty self-explanatory, and widely known at this point. It’s one I always debated with when I was in university and while completing my MSc. I think this deviated from how my professors presented networking to myself and other students, that it was all for landing an internship or full-time job after you completed your degree, so in theory, you were asking for something, albeit long-term.

I try to connect with five different people over LinkedIn or Twitter (more on these below) every week, and by that I mean follow or connect and introduce myself/have a short conversation about what they do, ask for a follow-up, etc. I find that this is a great way to not come across as over-bearing and entitled once you’ve first interacted with someone. These are genuine connections I’m trying to make as well, not just adding followers or anything like that. I find the more professionals I connect with in this manner, and the more conversations that I have with these people, the better I develop within the industry.

LinkedIn vs Twitter?

I’m not totally sure who else might feel this way, and if you’ve got any other networking platforms you like to use, please feel free to leave them below! But I’ve found myself drawn more and more to using Twitter as a platform to connect with other like-minded professionals in the sports industry. I really like using LinkedIn, its a great platform and can be really influential if you’re connected with the right network and follow the right pages. When I was doing my study abroad period in Madrid in the summer of 2019, I would send messages to new connections, introducing myself, what my business does, and my recent academic developments. I found this was a good way to introduce myself, letting them know my intentions, but without asking for something from a stranger.

In 2021 I only really started doing that same practice over Twitter, and I’ve actually found it to be just as if not more beneficial than on LinkedIn. My theory is that at some point in everyone’s professional journey, they were told they should probably get LinkedIn, and therefore only use it seldom, if at all! That’s not a bad thing, but I do think that there are a lot of LinkedIn users who don’t utilize the platform to its fullest potential, or simply don’t want to, which is totally cool! Bu there is just something about conversing with a new connection on Twitter who is in the same industry, that just feels a bit more personal, would you agree? I feel as if people on Twitter who put their professional occupation on their bio are interested enough in their job where they’d actually like to network there, and connect with others in the same industry.

At the end of the day, networking and connecting with strangers can be quite nerve-wracking. I still get a little nervous when I hop on a call with someone for the first time. But I help myself by studying who they are and what they do, writing down any must-ask questions I’ll have, and just trying to remember throughout any conversation or email thread, that they are people too and to just converse!

If you want to connect with my, you can send me invites via Twitter and LinkedIn!

Also, stay up to date with AceBoy Sports Group here, and on Twitter and LinkedIn!

Until next week, I hope you’ve enjoyed your week, have a fun Friday evening, and a great weekend! Also, wish your ABSG Reapers luck in tomorrow nights game!

Check you later!

Jason