Physical, Mental, and Technical Development

Which is more important for athletes?

Good morning everyone,

I hope you enjoyed last week’s edition of Learning the Venture, where I talked about accountability and why I think it is the most important trait for an athlete to have in order to be successful, based on my time as an athlete and agent.

This week, I’m going to stick with the theme of ‘development’ as it seems like that has garnered quite a bit of interest from the majority of subscribers. In today’s edition I’ll be analyzing which of the following types of training/development I think is the most important for an athlete to reach the next level of their sport:

  1. Physical

  2. Mental

  3. Technical

While all of these serve an important role in the overall, well-rounded development of an athlete, I think some take precedence over others depending on the age and career stage of the particular player. Please remember that I don’t claim to be any kind of personal development expert, trainer, or coach. These are my professional opinions based on my time as an athlete playing for multiple national teams, being recruited to NCAA DIII, and now acting as an agent interacting with various types of players.

Before we get started, if you are a new reader, welcome! Please consider subscribing and joining one of the fastest growing sports business newsletters!

Now, let’s get stuck in!

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Learning The Venture to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now