Scaling a Sports Management Company

My thoughts on scaling AceBoy Sports Group..,

Hey everyone,

I hope you have enjoyed your week, and are looking forward to another edition of Learning The Venture. Last week, I touched on three different countries that I’ve targeted to explore as viable playing options for my current and future client-athletes. In this week’s post, I’ll be taking more of an holistic approach, going over the various areas of the sports industry that AceBoy Sports Group currently operates in, and some of the areas we have earmarked for future capitalization in.

The original idea behind ABSG from when I first started it as a hobby in university, was to always be a multi-faceted sports management company and operate as such. These ‘pillars’ as I liked to call them, were broken down into athlete representation, events management, and marketing & promotions. As I’ve grown professionally along with ABSG, turning from a hobby into an actual company, so has my idea of what pillars I want ABSG to be built on.

Two of the main pillars have stayed the same in name, those being athlete representation and events management, but both have changed in terms of scope and context. In addition to working with athletes, the client representation pillar will also now include the representation of managers/coaches, as I’ve already been approached by a few interested parties, but at the time I didn’t feel I could deliver quality service to them. Furthermore, athlete sponsorship is also an avenue I’ve begun to explore, and I feel it is viable way to eventually onboard athletes of different sports as actual clients and begin representing them throughout their careers, further expanding our roster of clients. I will also be exploring the multitude of ways to act as an agent and look to work with clubs in certain capacities when procuring players.

In terms of events, the company will always work to bring original sporting events to Bermuda in a variety of various sports. To build on this, I will start to venture into event sponsorship, working with both local sporting events throughout the year, and also hopefully larger events that are hosted in Bermuda as our sports tourism industry continues to develop.

Over the last few months, once I obtained my FIFA agent license, I wanted to add another focus or two to the company and create additional opportunities for growth and revenue generation. These next two pillars are ones that have transformed from original ideas, and from what I’ve been exposed to as I’ve grown in this professional/entrepreneurial role. The idea here is to ensure that all pillars of ABSG are symbiotic of each other, and there is a clear presentation of not only the direction of the company, but also the image.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Learning The Venture to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now